Zardonic Interview

1. For those who don’t know you, can you introduce yourself and talk a bit about what you do?
My name is Federico Ágreda Álvarez aka Zardonic. I’m a composer, producer, sound designer, sound engineer, keyboardist, DJ, vocalist, graphic designer and professional nerd. I put my set of skills together to create the Zardonic project which consists of merging Metal and Electronic Dance Music / Bass Music, which we call Electronic Dance Metal, or Bass Metal. In the words of JVC Kenwood, “Skrillex meets Slipknot.”

2. How would you describe your music in 3 words?
Outspoken, relentless and loud.

3. If you were to recommend a song to someone, which song would you recommend? Why?
That’s a tough one. There are several styles I’ve done, even tracks that do not necessarily have full blown guitars all the time. But I think “Against All Odds” or “Bring Back The Glory” are a good start!

4. If someone were to attend one of your shows for the first time, what should they expect?
The heaviest Electronic Dance Music set they’ve heard in their entire lives. My sets combine the bass energy and dance beats that invite the body to move with the violence and rebel spirit of Rock and Metal that calls the horns up. The result is a perfect journey that cleanses the body and mind of all toxicity.

5. On Oct. 8 you played Loud Park in Japan and were the first EDM producer/DJ to ever play the festival, what was the experience like?
Nothing short of mind blowing. The Japanese can be a tough crowd. Especially the metalheads! That’s why I was amazed when I even saw a pit happening! I think it’s safe to say it surpassed all expectations. I met a lot of amazing people too and couldn’t have done this without the help of Rocktagon Worldwide, Live Talent, JVC Kenwood Victor Entertainment Corporation, Tower Records, Creativeman Productions and Entertainment One Music. There’s a huge process behind making a show stand out, and I have to thank my team for it!!

6. Was there a moment throughout the day that stood out to you the most or was your favorite?
Steven Souza of Exodus telling me he loved my set and Alexi Laiho of Children of Bodom greeting me. I don’t like being a groupie because I think you diminish yourself when you treat people like they’re above you, but I still am a fan of all these bands and respect their musicianship and contribution to the metal scene. It humbled me!

7. Thank you for doing this interview! Before we go, is there anything that you would like to say to the people reading this?
Thank YOU my friend! We need more people like you supporting the Electronic Dance Metal movement. And to everyone out there, thank you for taking the time to read this. Remember Google is your friend, so Google “Zardonic” and enjoy the ride!

Leave a comment