Jen Janet Interview

1. Welcome to LivingTheVanLife! For those who may not know you, can you state your name and talk a bit about what you do?
Sure, name is Jen Janet. For the past few years I’ve been the vocalist and keyboardist for an alternative rock band called Blind Revision. Although we are still very active and releasing music, I started my own project that involves pop and electronic influenced music. My new EP Dangerous comes out on March 6th.

2. In 3 words, how would you describe your music?
I would describe it with the words dance, upbeat, and fun.

3. Your solo EP, Dangerous, is set to be released in March, what should fans expect when they hear it for the first time?
They can expect a lot of upbeat electronic music. With this first release I was just looking to set the tone for the type of artist I’d like to be, and diversify the types of music I can write. Everyone already knows me from the band, and this is a very different sound from that. I’m looking to reach a different fan base and interact more online with people as well. Dangerous sounds a bit like Tove Lo and Lady Gaga.

4. If you had to choose one song off the EP to show to someone checking out your music for the first time, which song would you pick? Why?
I would pick the song “Dangerous,” not just because it’s the title track, but because I think it encompasses the vibe of what I was trying to create with this EP. The lyrics are a little bit mysterious, but it still has a very upbeat dance vibe to it. I think it’s very easy to move to, and I hope other people feel the same. There’s a lyric video for it available on Youtube right now.

5. Is there a certain song that you are most excited for fans to hear?
I’m excited for people to hear the whole thing, but the song “In Bloom” is a slow piano ballad, so it’s different from the rest of the songs. The lyrics are very personal and it will be interesting to see the response. I think that song also helps to show my range in terms of the styles of music I like to create. In the future, I’d like to collaborate with more people, so I’m hoping this will help with that.

6. What was your favorite memory while writing/recording the EP?
That’s hard to say because my writing process can get a bit lonely. I wrote the EP by myself, and I actually wrote three of the songs when I was about sixteen. I have a lot of music that I’ve just been sitting on and didn’t know what to do with. Now I’m actually trying to write a concept EP so I have a lot of new material, and my first release isn’t even out yet! I think it’s good to stay busy though. I really enjoyed being in the studio. I love that atmosphere, and just listening to all the parts of a song come together. So I guess that would be my favorite memory.

7. Thank you for doing this interview! Before we go, is there anything that you would like to say to our readers?
If you like my music, I’d love for you to follow me on social media. I don’t think people realize how much it means to musicians. It’s really fun interacting with people, especially if they are from other parts of the U.S. or other countries altogether. It’s also a great way to stay in touch with what is going on in other places or in the music industry. Getting to know your fans is super important. If I plan a tour, it also helps to know where your fans are from! I need to know where to go. You can follow me on any social media platforms @jenjanetmusic.

Leave a Reply

