Steven Jodway of State of Mine Interview

1. For those who don’t know you, can you state your name and your role in the band?
I am Steve and I am the head meat puppet or the singer of the band.

2.If your band were to be trapped in a horror movie, what would each member’s role be and who in the band would make it to the sequel?
Ok, Shawn would be the 1950’s greaser who says “ehh” all the time, as the angst filled rebel. Corey would be our very own sexy Velma.
Matt would be the boozy aunt who sneaks off to sip the flask as the easy time. Mike would be the scrappy-doo of the bunch.
And me, I’m hanging out with the dog as the typical stoner raiding the fridge and getting lost in the mansion.
As far as the sequel? The dog, lol, he’s the only one with the good sense to outsmart the killer.

3.Your album, Devil In Disguise, is set to be released on Sept. 15. How would you sum up the release?
This is our culmination of a year’s worth of ideas, long nights, and hard work. We are beyond excited to unleash this for everyone to hear and feel.

4.If you had to choose one song off of the album to show to someone checking out the album for the first time, which song would you choose? Why?
For me it would be “Waste My Time.” We all have been to that point in our lives where we break from our shell and feel the hair stand up on the back of your neck because of your experience. This song to me captures not just that message, but the entire emotion of that.

5.Is there a moment while writing or recording the album that stands out to you the most?
I had my first experience of co-writing a couple songs, (Curtain Call and Killing Me) with our good friend and producer BJ Perry. Traditionally I write the lyrics for State of Mine, but this allowed me to write in a different style and I gained a ton of pointers and tips that I may not have seen because I write in the style I’m used to.

6.Which song off of the album are you most excited for people to hear? Why?
“Broke By Monday.” I feel like our other songs are just as good as the ones before and after, but this really is a song that is a theme as well as just a good damn time. You find that we have taken a little bit of who we are put them into each song, but this is our have fun when we practice and play live song.

7.Is there anything else that you would like to say about the album that you have not yet said?
We are very proud this, and we had an amazing time during the recording process and reflects in the record. I hope that people who listen to this find themselves having just as much fun and saying: “Wow, you know John or Stephanie might not be into this particular music genera, but I know they’ll Love this song!”

8.Thank you for doing this interview! Before we go, is there anything that you would like to say to the people reading this?
Thank you for taking the time to have us answer for you!!
Keep your nose to the grindstone.
Keep your feet on the ground.
And keep your eyes to the stars.
Always, always, always keep going. Never give up.

Band Links-
Facebook
YouTube
Twitter

Leave a Reply

