Surfacing Interview

1. Can you state your name and your role in the band?
Hey I’m Joe D and I play guitar in Surfacing.

2. In one word, describe another member of the band.
Genius, as in mad genius. Our vocalist Ryan has the most beautifully bizarre mind and it shows lyrically in “Chaos Through Clarity.” I feel like Ryan really pushes the envelope with some of the concepts he explores and it certainly doesn’t hurt that he has a voice that can deliver those ideas with such raw power.

3. How would you describe your music to people checking you out for the first time?
If there’s one album to sum up the last 15 years of metalcore, it’s “Chaos Through Clarity.” I know it comes off bold but I firmly stand by that statement. When Surfacing first formed in 2009 we were highly influenced by August Burns Red, Miss May I and A Day to Remember and you’ll hear that in songs like “A Wish To Perish,” “Smother The Symphony” and “Begin To Decay” which were written very early. The benefit of having 5+ years to work on an album was that we got to grow immensely as musicians and songwriters. A few years in I knew I wanted a more rounded body of work than just the current metalcore trends and that’s where earlier metalcore bands like Avenged Sevenfold, Killswitch Engage and Lamb of God came to influence us on songs like “Amongst Giants” and The “Demons Of Attica.” If you’ve been an avid fan of the genre over the years I think you’ll enjoy hearing the vast timeline of metalcore influences. I can’t say I know too many albums that can do the same, maybe we’re finally showing that this genre has got some great history to it.

4. You are releasing your new album “Chaos Through Clarity” on December 18th, can you talk a bit about the writing and recording processes that went into it?
Come 2012 we decide to start recording the full length as we had a decent chunk of the album written by then. We were recommended to engineer David Andronico based here in New York. We immediately hit it off with Dave and recorded “Thank You For The Inspiration”, “Amongst Giants” and “Turned To Ink.” After going through the recording process with Dave I knew we struck gold. Up until then writing process was fairly simple. Basic pre-production was our original guitarist Matt or I would come up with a riff and the band would jam around it a bit. From there I’d put my producer cap on and work on the tracks at home then bring them back to practice and Ryan would write vocals over them. After doing the initial batch of songs with Dave we decided to have him on as a producer for the album as well because we were astounded by his ideas. Dave highly influenced a lot of the vocal work on the album and his post production touch is invaluable as it helps tie a lot of the album together. He’s the easiest to work with, extremely knowledgeable and I’m pretty sure at this point not one member of the band wants to work with anyone else for our next album.

5. As a whole, what does “Chaos Through Clarity” mean to you?
“Chaos Through Clarity” to me is finding what you love more than anything and going through hell to obtain it. We definitely didn’t know how much art would imitate life when naming this album all those years ago.

6. Is there a certain song off of the album that you feel has an impactful meaning/story behind it? If so, can you explain it a bit?Screenshot_2015-12-04-09-07-12-1-1
I think the entire concept of the album is a bit stronger than any one song. It’s one of those the whole is greater than the sum of its parts things. On the back cover of the album we have the “story” of “Chaos Through Clarity” which was something I wrote to roughly correspond the concept of the album. **see picture

7. Is there a song off the album that you are most excited for people hear? Why?
Right now it’d have to be “In The Wake Of Armageddon.” I feel that’s the pinnacle track on the album in terms of the concept and sonically. Some of the dynamics and ideas we pulled off on that one came across better than I could’ve ever imagined.

8. Where do you want to see Surfacing in 5 years?
I’m thinking Surfacing’s current timeline is to tour and promote “Chaos Through Clarity” until 2016 and then we’ll release our next album “Honesty” which we have a lot written for. “Honesty” will more than likely get double the support so that leaves us somewhere around 2018-2019. I’d say from there we’ll probably take a break and work on the next album so come 2020 everyone should be expecting our third. Hopefully that’s the one to get us into Madison Square Garden.

9. The current most popular question on the blog: If the band was stranded on a deserted island and you had to eat another member of the band to survive, who would you eat first?
Easily our drummer Tony. The dude is jacked, so I’m sure the rest of the band wouldn’t mind a few high protein meals to get through that struggle.

10. Thank you for doing the interview, before we go is there anything you want to say to the people reading this?
Thank you for having me. I’d like to take this time to just encourage anyone out there who has a dream, a vision, and a passion. Get out there and persevere, it’ll happen one day. I started this band when I was an 18 years old college dropout and here I am a 25 year old married man releasing the album that I’ve wanted to make since I was 11. Don’t ever give up. Happy holidays everyone.

One comment

  1. […] Over five years in the making, New York band Surfacing released their album “Chaos Through Clarity” today and it is definitely one to check out! Blending the sounds of Avenged Sevenfold with Miss May I and August Burns Red, Surfacing’s Joe D stated, in our interview with them posted last week, that: “if there’s one album to sum up the last 15 years of metalcore, it’s ‘Chaos Through Clarity’” (you can check out the interview here). […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

