Welcome to LivingTheVanLife

There is just something about music that has captivated me since I was a kid. Growing up, I dreamed of being a pop star and performing all over the world, but as I grew older my dreams changed and I realized my abilities or lack thereof. Looking back at my childhood self, I almost laugh at how much I have changed. The “glamorous” life of a pop star no longer intrigues me, rather I find myself dreaming of the “van life.” Traveling city to city, living in the now, and making memories that last a lifetime with your closest friends. Now, with my best friend and my ever trusty Sno-berry Peace Tea by my side, I find myself traveling from city to city, concert to concert, living a life my young self would never have even thought about.

My young self would never have imagined listening to some of the music I listen to now, from musicians like Ed Sheeran, SayWeCanFly, and This Wild Life to The Summer Set and The Ready Set to bands like Intentions, Out Came the Wolves, and Of Mice and Men. Looking back, I have begun to feel that as we get older, our music changes with us and that the music we listen to tells the story of who we are, where we have been, and where we are going.

Music also seems to have a way of connecting us to new people that we may have never met otherwise. Many weekends I find myself braving the elements outside a venue waiting for the doors to open, soon to find myself surrounded by people who are together, for one night, just for the pure love of music. Complete strangers, turning to each other, striking up conversations and acting as if they have known each other all their lives. I smile when I hear people talk about the band they love and how they want nothing more than to hug each member and take a picture. As the bands take the stage, I find myself closer to these complete strangers as we sing and dance along to the music, having the time of our lives. When the night ends we sadly go our separate ways, knowing that one thing will reunite us again. The music.

Leave a Reply

